

Barnes County – Planning And Zoning

Planning and Zoning Barnes County Courthouse 230 4th Street NW, Room 202 Valley City, ND 58072 701-845-8188

Board Members

Michael Schwehr Chairman

11442 23rd St SE Rogers, ND. 58479 701-646-6203

Bill Carlblom Vice Chairman

3557 Sheyenne Circle Valley City, ND 58072 701-840-0763

John Behm

PO Box 34 Fingal, ND 58031 701-924-8839

Scott Legge

10042 27th St SE Sanborn, ND 58480 701-646-6681

Jeff Bopp

11719 38th St SE Valley City, ND 58072 701-840-2343

Vernon Roorda

9610 44th St SE Ypsilanti ND 58497 701-669-2584

Dave Carlsrud

254 2nd Ave BE Valley City, ND 58072 701-740-7291

Jeff Erickson

215 7th Ave SW Valley City, ND 58072 701-490-1843

Shawn Olauson

12538 41st St SE Valley City, ND 58072 701-490-8696

Minutes – July 11, 2019

Members Present: Mike Schwehr, Shawn Olauson, Jeff Erickson, Dave Carlsrud, Bill Carlblom, Vernon Roorda, John Behm, Scott Legge

Also, Present: Jessica Jenrich, Tonya Duffy, Dean Kinney

Meeting called to order by Chairman Schwehr.

Motion by Carlblom, 2nd by Roorda to approve June 13, 2019 minutes. Motion carried.

Meeting recessed for the Hearing for Matt Buttke for a Variance for structure setback of 95' from the center of the township road, NE1/4, 30-138-57, Norma Township. No one appeared to protest. Motion by Legge, 2nd by Erickson, to approve the Variance structure setback of 95' from the center of the township road. Motion carried.

Meeting recessed for the Hearing for Ottertail Power Company for a CUP for Utilities. No one appeared to protest. Motion by Carlblom, 2nd by Roorda to approve the CUP for Utilities. Motion carried.

Meeting recessed for the Hearing for Jason Ryan for a Tree Variance from the center of the township road. Dean Kinney was present and just wanted to state that if they are going to make everyone follow the rules they should make sure everyone follows them. No one else appeared to protest. Motion by Behm, 2nd by Legge to deny the variance for tree setback from the township road. Motion carried.

Meeting recessed for the Hearing for Mike Metcalf for a Variance for Lot Size. Ms. Jenrich had one person call to state their opinion that the 5 acre rule needs to be followed. No one else appeared to protest. Motion by Legge, 2nd by Behm to deny the Variance for lot size because it does not meet the 5 acre rule that is in the Development Code. Carlsud obstained from voting. Motion carried.

Matt Buttke – Grain Storage – NE1/4, 30-138-57, Norma Twp
Matt Buttke – Propane Tank – NE1/4, 30-138-57, Norma Twp
Randy McClaflin – Garage – NE1/4, 23-141-56, Weimer Twp
Mitchell Smith – Residence – Aud Lt 3 NW1/4, 06-139-58, Marsh Twp
Ken Rasmusson – Shop – SW1/4, 12-140-60, Potter Twp
Scott Botner – Shop – NE1/4, 32-137-61, Greenland Twp
Jennifer Capman – Porch – 730'x955' of SW1/4, 30-137-56, Raritan Twp
Michael Heinze – House & Garage – Lot 2 Blk 1 Whatchacallit Sub. 12-143-58

Michael Heinze – House & Garage – Lot 2 Blk 1 Whatchacallit Sub, 12-143-58, Sibley Trail Twp

John R Anderson – Bins – SE1/4, 22-139-57, Cuba Twp

The following building permits were reviewed:

Cheryl Foell – House & Garage – Lot 2 Foell's Meadow Sub, 23-140-59, Hobart Twp

Kristi Schneider – Garage – S 244' of Aud Lt 1 SE1/4, 10-142-60, Edna Twp Oak Reile – Storage Building – SE1/4, 17-141-56, Weimer Twp Bill Carlblom – Garage – Aud Lt 1 of SE1/4, 29-138-60, Svea Twp Wayne Henjum – Deck – Lots 21&22 Jewett's Beach Sub, 21&22-142-58, Ashtabula Twp

Kyle Schaefer (renewal) – House & Garage – All of SW1/4 W of RR less R/W, 11-141-59, Stewart Twp

Tom Johnson – Grain Dryer Leg – SE1/4 SE1/4 less 1.25A R/W & 2.62A for Aud Lt 1, 26-138-61, Meadow Lake Twp

Dana Gramlow – Garage – Aud Lt 1 of E1/2 6.48A NE1/4 .65A SE1/4, 28-142-57, Grand Prairie Twp

Motion by Carlblom, seconded by Behm to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried, meeting adjourned.

Jessica Jenrich, P&Z Administrator